Lemon White Wine Chicken w/ Asparagus

Standard

Some nights I just want to eat dinner, so I make something simple and quick (think ramen noodles or canned soup). But sometimes, I feel a little creative.

Something I missed doing in January was pairing my dinners to a wine. Since I volunteered for that whole Dry January shenanigans, I missed out on the delightful experience of having food with a wine that complimented it. After opening my bottle of Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy Sauvignon Blanc by WINC, I just knew I had to figure out some yummy dish to pair it with. Now, anyone who knows me well knows that I’m not exactly the most talented when it comes to cooking. I mean, I can follow directions for a recipe and usually things turn out alright, but I’m not typically one for “making it up as I go”.

I evaluated the situation in my fridge. I had a pound of asparagus, a pound of chicken breasts and a lemon. I also had my standard ramen noodles in the pantry. I poured myself a glass of vino and got to work.

First things first: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Then, trim the asparagus bottoms and then chop the remainder into bite sized pieces. Next I transferred the asparagus to a mixing bowl where I drizzled it with olive oil and seasoned it with salt, pepper and a dash of garlic salt. I sprayed the baking pan with a spritz of olive oil spray and then poured the asparagus on. Once on the sheet, I gave them a spritz of lemon juice. Popped em in the oven for 12 minutes. The size of the asparagus will make the cooking time more or less, but these ones were pretty thin so I felt safe at 12 minutes.

While the asparagus was roasting (oh my gosh, I really love roasted asparagus), I cubed the chicken into bite size pieces. Mostly because it was easier to cook that way, but also because then I wouldn’t have to worry about cutting it later. I seasoned the chicken pieces with lemon, pepper and garlic salt. After heating some oil in a skillet, I poured the chicken in and began to cook it. I like my chicken really brown, so the cooking part of this will just vary on your heat and how big your pieces are. When I felt the chicken was 75% done (and that’s really just a guessing game when it comes to me cooking so use your own judgement here), I gave it a spritz of lemon juice andddddd….a couple splashes of the wine.

In the meantime I was also making my packet of ramen noodles. There’s directions on those packages/I’m guessing most everyone knows how to make ramen noodles, so we’ll skip that step.

When everything is finished, I plated the ramen noodles first, topped with asparagus and finally the chicken. It was so good and I could really taste the wine/lemon influence which made this beginner cook VERY excited.

 

mysterydinner

Also, I should note that I only used about 1/2 lb of each chicken and asparagus for this dish. I was cooking for one and wasn’t sure how it would turn out, so I didn’t want to waste more than I had to. Looking back, I wish I’d made it all so I had leftovers today…but now I need to try to come up with something for tonight!

You’ll have to let me know if you decide to give this dish a whirl and how it turns out!

Also, if you are a member of WINC, I highly recommend giving Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy a try. It was so delicious, especially paired with this meal. If you love wine but have never heard of or tried WINC, click here  and 1 of your bottles will be on the house!

Enjoy your Tuesday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

