RECIPE: Romano Chicken w/ Lemon Garlic Pasta

Standard

Oh. My. Gosh. You guys, this is SO GOOD.
Besides my taste buds telling me so, the sure fact that something is really good is when my husband tells me that he wouldn’t change a thing. Most meals are “really good, but…” with a few ways he’d do things differently listed after that.

I don’t have a source on this one, because I wrote the recipe in my notebook awhile ago, so I apologize for that.

Ingredients:
1 LB chicken breasts, butterflied or cutlets
Salt & Pepper
1/2 c. finely shredded parmesan cheese
1 egg, beaten
Dry parsley
1/2 c. panko bread crumbs
Olive oil
1/2 LB pasta (we used angel hair)
Juice from 1 lemon
3 cloves garlic, minced
zest from 1/4 lemon
2 TBSP cold butter

1. Put the cheese on a plate, the beaten egg with dry parsley in a bowl and the panko crumbs on another plate.
2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
3. Season chicken on both sides with salt and pepper. Then, dredge the chicken in the cheese, dip into egg and press both sides into the crumbs before putting on a baking sheet.
4. Bake chicken for 25-35 minutes, flipping once during the baking process.
5. While chicken is baking, cook pasta according to directions. Drain, but reserve about 1/2 of the water.
6. To a skillet, add lemon juice, lemon zest, salt and pepper and garlic. Cook until liquid is reduced to about half.
7. Next, add 1 TBSP of cold butter and melt into the sauce. While swirling pan, add the remaining 1 TBSP of butter and repeat. Stir in about 2 TBSP of pasta water to thin (add more if desired, I believe I did about 4 TBSP)
8. Add cooked pasta to skillet and toss. Serve with chicken over the pasta and a lemon wedge if desired.

romanochicken
This is seriously SO GOOD and I hope you give it a try! Yummmmyyyy. I had the rest of the leftovers for lunch today and now I want more.

Leave a Reply

